My Son

My Son

Alessandra in My Son

My Son is a cluster of abandoned and partially ruined Hindu temples constructed between the 4th and the 14th century AD by the kings of Champa.  The temples are dedicated to the worship of the god Shiva, known under various local names, the most important of which is “Bhadresvara”   It lies in the middle of the jungle, close to Hoi An & has hindu influances similar to the temples of Angkor Wat in Cambodja. The city was lost in the jungle till a French guy discovered it while hunting.  It was a huge area but most of the temples were unfortunately destroyed by the boms of the US army during the Vietnam war in an attempt to kill the soldiers of the Vietcong hidden all over the jungle.

Belinda interviewed by the Vietnamese television

Belinda interviewed by the Vietnamese television

During our visit, we were interrupted by a camera crew of the Vietnam television. They were making a documentary about My Son and asked to interview some travellers. Belinda, an Australian woman from Sydney agreed and did the interview with the reporter.

The My Son temples emerged as limestones between the dense vegetation of the tropical forest. In the background, clouds kind of rested on the mountain peaks.  On our way back, we took a river cruise back to the cosy town of Hoi An.

Comments
One Response to “My Son”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] When I arrived in Sydney, I was invited by Belinda & Gino, a lovely couple I met in My Son, Vietnam back in January.  We only spoke for like 10 minutes when Belinda kindly offered me to show her […]



Leave a Reply

